Quiet Skies Congressional Caucus

Quiet Skies Caucus – Oct. 1 statement from founding caucus members

Washington, D.C.—Today, Reps. Steve Israel (D-Huntington), Grace Meng (D-Flushing), Carolyn McCarthy (D-Mineola) and Joe Crowley (D-Queens, the Bronx) announced the creation of a Quiet Skies Caucus in Congress, which will raise awareness on the issue of aircraft noise and work to find meaningful solutions to the problem. The caucus consists of members from across the country whose constituents are adversely affected by incidents of airplane and helicopter noise.

Rep. Israel said, “Too many of my constituents are dealing with an influx of aircraft noise that is negatively impacting their quality of life. While I’ve worked on a local level to solve this problem, I’m proud to join with Rep. Meng and colleagues from around the country whose constituents are facing a similar issue to create the Quiet Skies Caucus, which will work to find sensible solutions to this ongoing issue.”

News Articles

Jul 17, 2015:  Members of congressional Quiet Skies Caucus … Call for airplane noise to be part of FAA Reauthorization Act

Oct 9, 2014:  Congressional Group forms Quiet Skies Caucus

Oct 3, 2014:   Eshoo Joins Quiet Skies Caucus

Oct 2, 2014:  Lawmakers for new congressional caucus ‘Quiet Skies’

Oct 1, 2014:  Reps. Israel, Meng, McCarthey, Crowley, Meeks and Bishop announces Quiet Skies Caucus to combat airplane noise

Caucus Member Position Statements


Congresswoman Anna Eshoo – caucus member statement on aircraft noise


Letters from Quiet Skies Caucus and  supporters

Jul 17, 2015:  Quiet Skies letter to Shuster and DeFazio

Others members of the Quiet Skies Caucus – from districts outside of New York – who signed the letter include: Reps. Ruben Gallego (D-AZ), Mike Quigley (D-IL), Katherine Clark (D-MA), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Ted Lieu (D-CA), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC), Anna Eshoo (D-CA), Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), Sam Farr (D-CA), Stephen Lynch (D-MA), Alan Grayson (D-FL) and Maxine Waters (D-CA).

Sep 12, 2014:  Caucus letter to FAA Admin Huerta

House Members

Spearheaded by Reps. Israel and Meng, the following Members of Congress have joined the caucus:

Carolyn McCarthy (D-NY)

Joe Crowley (D-NY)

Gregory Meeks (D-NY)

Tim Bishop (D-NY)

Henry Waxman (D-CA)

Adam Schiff (D-CA)

Anna Eshoo (D-CA)

Mike Quigley (D-IL)

Alan Grayson (D-FL)

Keith Ellison (D-Minn)

Tammy Duckworth (D-IL)

Mike Capuano (D-MA)

Katherine Clark (D-MA)

On Oct. 1, U.S. Reps. Steve Israel (D-Melville), Joe Crowley (D-Jackson Heights), Grace Meng (D-Flushing) and Carolyn McCarthy (D-Garden City) announced the formation of the Queens Quiet Skies Caucus in Congress. The new group will work on the issue of airplane noise by raising awareness and searching for solutions.

“It is imperative that we continue to work on solutions to this problem and raising it to the national level through this new caucus is a very sensible way to do that,” Meng said.

The caucus includes members of the House of Representatives from across the country whose constituents are negatively affected by airplane and helicopter noise.

U.S. Reps. Henry Waxman (D-Calif.), Adam Schiff (D-Calif.), Anna Eshoo (D-Calif.), Alan Grayson (D-Fla.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Mike Quigley (D-Ill.), Mike Capuano (D-Mass.), Katherine Clark (D-Mass.) and Keith Ellison (D-Minn.) are part of the caucus.

– See more at: http://queenstribune.com/congressional-group-forms-quiet-skies-caucus/#sthash.sKGHn7jx.dpuf